2018 Backcountry Permit Buzz

Are you a seasoned hiker, or just starting out? Let us know your questions or experience with the backcountry permit process.

Moderators: teapot57, Tara

teapot57
Moderator & 2.1 Donator
Moderator & 2.1 Donator
Gender?: Female
Please add the numbers(11): 11

2018 Backcountry Permit Buzz

Post by teapot57 »

Today’s the day to finalize your backcountry permit application and submit your offering to the backcountry gods.

Good luck to everyone submitting permit applications tomorrow morning!

If you have any last minute questions, ask away. And share your success with us, but remember not to publicly post your actual permit number.

:arrow:
McKee80
Donator
Donator
Gender?: Male

Re: 2018 Backcountry Permit Buzz

Post by McKee80 »

Its been strangely quiet the last week. This is my first year requesting a trip. I do have a quick question:

Is it possible to cache food at Goat Haunt? I haven't been able to find any information on this. I'd be passing by there halfway through an eight night trip and it would be nice to save the weight (and space).

Thanks,
Sean
Syrio

Post by Syrio »

Do you have to wait until 8 am mountain time to open your app and click through to submit or can you be on the final page of your permit and click submit at 8 AM?
McKee80
Donator
Donator

Post by McKee80 »

I was planning on being on the final page, but I read some posts from last year that said you are locked out of your form until it opens. So you have to wait for each page to load on your way to the payment screen. I guess we'll see. Also, you can pre-load your payment info on the site, so you won't have to do it at submit time. I'm curious as to how slow that site is going to be when the time hits.
Syrio

Post by Syrio »

I do know that you can't have two separate permit applications open at the same time. It'll kick you out of both. So if you're planning on submitting for two separate trips, do the one you want most first.
tibber
2.0 Donator
2.0 Donator